Daily Archives: October 26, 2009

Where is your brain from?

The United States of Mind by Stephanie Simon. Seriously cool, plus an interactive MAP!!! Who knew Alaska was so psychologically boring?

The unfortunate part:

Why did New Yorkers seem so tense and inward-focused, often brusque to the point of rudeness?

That sounds way too much like me. Actually, Erin and I went to a Focus the Nation (much love, FtN) Clean Energy Forum where I made a kind of harsh remark to one of the panelists. She mentioned that her group needs volunteers for “slave labor” and I said, in the microphone no less, I didn’t think that was funny. Several people thanked me for the comment, one even high-fived me, but I felt like a jerk. The other part about being tense and inward-focused – I’m fucking blogging about this, I doubt it can be more obvious that I’m insane. New York and I strangely enough belong together, and this withdrawal is slowly eating away at my psyche. On the other hand, the slow friendly pace of New Mexico is probably doing me a favor especially when it comes to the weather. My weather widget predicts rain for the next two days in New York, where as here clear sunny skies as usual. Sweet deal.